Once Upon a Time

Once

I literally held the magic

of dragonflies

on my fingertips.

Hovering,

they appeared

anywhere I was –

congested parking lots,

strolls in the park,

drives to complete errands.

For two years

my spirit animal

seemed to abandon me.

For two years

hope and happiness

abandoned me.

There is a cultural belief

that this creature represents

one making a conscious effort

to express wishes and dreams.

At the present time

I pursue serenity,

struggle to hold my head

above turbulent waters,

sleep well more often than not.

Moreover

a dragonfly has

made an appearance

seemingly out of nowhere.

Another drifts by the window

daily as I work.

And a blue one flickered past

yesterday as I departed my car.

-upcoming publication Highland Park Poetry Daily Poem 2023

Leave a comment